NAT 28 Portraits Series: Amy Williams

<p>NAT 28’s&nbsp;Portraits Series&nbsp;presents milestone works by an established composer living in Pittsburgh. This season we will feature the work of composer, performer, and educator Amy Williams. Amy's music has been presented by major institutions around the world including Pittsburgh's most well-known organizations: The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble, Music on the Edge series, the Pittsburgh Festival of New Music, and many other music ensembles in the Steel City. NAT 28 is proud to shine the spotlight on Amy's work as her commitment to the contemporary music scene in Pittsburgh and abroad so closely reflects our mission.<br />
<br />
The program includes five of Amy’s chamber works interspersed with interludes from her well-known&nbsp;Cineshapes, a series of pieces inspired by structural and thematic elements from different films. The works on this concert highlight NAT 28’s flexible and broad instrumentation:&nbsp;Dream&nbsp;Landscapefor percussion quartet,&nbsp;Quodlibet&nbsp;for flute, oboe, violin, viola, cello, and piano, and&nbsp;Switch&nbsp;for piano four-hands. The arc of the concert is designed to give the audience a deep look into Amy’s work highlighting the past 15 years of her career.&nbsp;</p>

<p>Program:&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<br />
Cineshape Interludes (various instr.)<br />
Dream Landscape (perc quartet)<br />
Quodlibet (fl, ob, vln, vla, vcl, pno)<br />
Sextet (pierrot ensemble)<br />
Switch (pno 4 hands)<br />
Stop/Yield (vcl, pno)</p>